Archive for January 15, 2010

~Pet Society Festive Decorating Contest Entry~

For my First official entry on this blog I’ve decided to do a post on my Favorite Playfish Game Pet Society. Recently Playfish held a contest i entered which I placed 11th place out of thousands of entrys !!!

Id like to start off by saying my decision to enter the contest was an easy one. I didnt enter to really win any prizes It was to show my appreciation for Playfish and their games. To me Playfish has givin me more then just a love for there games, I have met alot of wonderful people that I now call friends from all over the globe. My wii cant do that for me !!! 🙂 

My design idea of the cake,  I didnt really plan out ahead of time I just started making the cake and came up with ideas as I went along. I find thats always the best way in creating something is to go with your instincts. The theme of the contest was “Festive Decorating ” Playfish Style, although Im highly addicted to all 11 of Playfish’s games Pet Society was my first true love and is what turned me from a non online gamer to Highly addicted social gamer                                  

The Mayor topper was a must as he is the main character in Pet Society and rumor has it around Pet Society that he has an obsession with meatballs so I wanted to incorporate that into the cake. In total it took me 3 days total to make this cake. I have 3 year old twin boys so making it involved some major multi tasking to say the least. Everything on the cake is 100 percent edible and made by myself except for the board I put the cake on.The cost to make a cake like this was about $40.00 CDN to make the entire cake the fondant and icing and everything else is all made from scratch, by doing it this way you save alot of money just takes more time. By far my biggest challenge with this cake would of had to be the Pet Society Mayor ….. I shaped him out of rice cripsies and melted marshmellows then covered him in hand cut fondant pieces for the face and clothing ect. not an easy task on my good days.

Personally I think the cake tasted delicious, but I may be a bit biast being that I’m one that made it lol ! I served the cake at our annual Tacky Christmas Party we have every year to about 20 friends and they all said it was great some even went for the seconds. The kids loved that they could eat the trees and all the decorations. As for the Mayor hes still in my freezer in limbo. Didnt have the heart to eat the poor guy or toss him out soo not sure maybe I’ll reuse him for something for next years contest!

January 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm 3 comments


Categories

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 5,110 hits
January 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds